

Norma Driver Trophy Benelux – Round 5: Circuit Zolder

## Luc De Cock, Tim Joosen and Tim Verbergt triumph in heroic conditions!

- Victory for Luc De Cock, Tim Joosen and Tim Verbergt in memorable rain soaked race
- Silver medal for Frédéric Bouvy and Damien Coens in debut with the Norma M20 FC
- Bert Longin retains narrow lead in Norma Driver Trophy

HEUSDEN-ZOLDER – At the wheel of their Deldiche Racing Norma M20 FC Luc De Cock, Tim Joosen and Tim Verbergt claimed victory in the penultimate round of the Norma Driver Trophy Benelux. In a 125 minutes race held at Circuit Zolder, under hellish conditions, they narrowly held off Frédéric Bouvy and Damien Coens, who were competing in their first-ever race with a Norma. Points leader Bert Longin teamed up with 24 Hours of Zolder winner Christoff Corten completed the podium.

Even before the start of the competition we lost one of the potential candidates for victory. The Russell Racing by PK Carsport Norma which Jeffrey Van Hooydonk shares with Gilles Magnus and Hans Thiers had to throw in the towel due to a defective engine. Once the season's last race in Belgium was flagged off the rain took a leading role. In the opening stage, and on a rain drenched track, the T2 Racing machine manned by Stephan Brintzinger and Philipp Schlegel crashed, whereupon Luc De Cock promptly decided to call into the pits to hand over the wheel to Tim Verbergt. A tactically good move, although the wet conditions played tricks on the CN Prototypes in the rest of the race. The No Speed Limit-car lost a fair amount of time in the gravel trap and the McDonald's Racing machine skidded off the track following a puncture.

"This is a fabulous result for the entire team", an enthusiastic Luc De Cock commented on the podium. "It was an extremely tough race, with at given moments visibility down to zero. Everyone needed to pull out all the stops to keep the car on the track, making this victory a crowning achievement."

"It was a weird weekend", Norma Driver Trophy Benelux-coordinator Vincent Desschans commented. "In the first instance there was the bitter aftertaste regarding the retirement of reigning champion Russell Racing by PK Carsport and the early crash of the Swiss T2 Racing. In my eyes both teams had the opportunity of putting in good scores this weekend. The same also applies to No Speed Limit that on its debut appearance could well have won,







had it not been for an excursion into the gravel trap. Former champion McDonald's Racing lost a great deal of time due to an unfortunate puncture while GHK Racing and Krafft Racing lost time following a spin in the tricky weather conditions. However, Krafft Racing driver Bert Longin retains the lead in the intermediate rankings, by a mere single point from Tim Joosen. As such the title will be decided in the final round of the season to be held at the Dutch TT Circuit Assen in a fortnight's time."

During the weekend of 19<sup>th</sup> and 20<sup>th</sup> October the Norma Driver Trophy Benelux will be heading off for Assen in the north of the Netherlands for the 2019 season's final round. A race held over 125 minutes will decide who will be crowned the 2019 champion!

- End -

## Calendar 2019

17-19 May: DTM (Circuit Zolder – 2 races)
31 May - 2 June: Superprix (Circuit Zolder)
12-13 July: 25H VW Fun Cup (Spa-Francorchamps)
8-11 August: 24H Zolder (Circuit Zolder)
5-6 October: American Festival NASCAR Finals (Circuit Zolder)
19-20 October: Final races (TT Circuit Assen)



